Biykem Bozkurt



Biykem Bozkurt

Dr. Biykem Bozkurt is an advanced heart failure and cardiac transplantation specialist at Baylor College of Medicine (BCM), Houston TX, where she serves as the Associate Provost of Faculty Affairs and Senior Associate Dean of Faculty Development, Mary and Gordon Cain Chair in Cardiology and Professor of Medicine; Vice-Chair of Department of Medicine.

Dr. Bozkurt is the Immediate Past President of the Heart Failure Society of America. She has been identified as one of Web of Science’s World’s Highly Cited Researchers (top 1% Web of Science) in 2019.  She serves as a Senior Associate Editor for Circulation; a Heart Failure Section Editor for the Journal of American College of Cardiology, and Co-Chair of the 20201 AHA/ACC Heart Failure Guidelines Writing Committee. She has served as the Heart Failure Council Chair of the American College of Cardiology and immediate Past Chair of the ACC/AHA Task Force for Clinical Data Standards.

Throughout her career, Dr. Bozkurt has been recognized for excellence in clinical care, education and leadership. She was the recipient of the National Veterans Affairs Secretary’s Hands and Heart Award for Recognition of Highest Standards in Patient Care in 2003, American College of Cardiology Proctor Harvey MD Young Teacher Award in 2005, BCM Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson, Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education in 2014, BCM Master Clinician Lifetime Award in 2014, American College of Cardiology Gifted Educator Award in 2016, BCM Ben and Margaret Love Foundation Bobby Alford Presidential Award for Academic Clinical Professionalism in 2019 and BCM Distinguished Faculty Alumni Award in 2020. Additionally in 2018, she was selected among top 100 Turks Leading Medicine, and second highest ranking Turkish women scientist by Turkish Time Magazine.

Dr. Bozkurt actively participates in clinical and translational research; presents at national and international scientific sessions; teaches medical students, residents, fellows at bedside and in the classroom setting; mentors trainees and faculty locally and nationally.